How to Identify Gluten on Food Labels - Verywell Health Jan 30, 2022 · People who need to avoid gluten usually know to check food labels for “wheat.” You may need to read labels more carefully, though, to find other ingredients that contain gluten. Check for grains that are forms of wheat or which are made from wheat such as malt and farina. Also look for colorings, flavorings, or other additives.